Graduation Cap Shadow Box

Screen shot 2014-09-02 at 9.18.06 PM

After spending hours decorating my graduation cap, I knew that I wanted to keep it in a safe place for memory’s sake and I had seen something like the photo above, while looking around on Pinterest and the internet one day. (View original pin here)

I too, had a sorority stole and honor cords to display, similar to the shadow box I saw online. I may add more to it later like a photo or something, but for now I love how mine turned out! To see how I decorated my college graduation cap, visit my ‘DIY Graduation Cap’ blog post!

Comments & Suggestions:

  • I probably should have folded the cords and rest of the stole underneath the stole instead of letting it hang on the outside (which I later covered over with tape and cardboard on the back).
  • I found this 14inch x 18inch shadow box at Michael’s for $29.99 (they even had a buy 1, get 1 free deal going on so I got to do two different craft projects!)
  • The shadow box which I purchased, had a fabric backing attached to it, so I used small sewing pins to secure the cap, stole, and cords in place
  • I wrapped my graduation tassel around a few times in order for it to fit in the box

 

5 thoughts on “Graduation Cap Shadow Box

  1. Pingback: 5 DIY Graduation Cap Ideas That Will Show Your Personality

  2. Pingback: 45+ Best Graduation Cap Ideas for 2020 Grads | Shutterfly

Leave a comment