Healthy Shrimp Scampi with Zucchini Noodles

For all of my followers, I want to thank you for your wonderful comments and posts. I am looking forward to jumping back into the blogosphere with all things Pinterest related!

While I travelled a lot with my job in Australia, the travelling hasn’t quite stopped there. With my new position in Chicago, I spend quite a lot of time on the road and the majority of my meals are consumed in restaurants, since I am unable to cook in hotels. I find it to be quite a luxury when I am actually able to take a trip to the grocery store (when I am home in Chicago), without worrying about my food going bad!

With that being said… last week, I finally had a full week of living in my apartment, without a day of travel (well, until Sunday afternoon at least). My kitchen got a little bit of TLC and it was nice to see some food sitting in my pantry and fridge for a change!

On Friday night, I whipped up an amazing healthy dish and I wanted to share it with all of you.

Shrimp Scampi Screenshot

The original recipe can be found here. I have listed a slightly modified version of the recipe with notes below. I’m not much of a fan for parsley or red pepper flakes, so I just cooked without both of them, and it still was delicious!

Servings: 2 to 4 servings               Prep Time: 20 minutes                 Cook Time: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

• 2 Tablespoons olive oil
• 1 pound jumbo shrimp, shelled and deveined
• 1 Tablespoon minced garlic
• 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
• 1/4 cup white wine (I recommend Sauvignon Blanc)
• 2 Tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
• 2 medium zucchini, cut into noodles
• Chopped parsley, for garnish (optional)

Directions:

Step 1: Cut your zucchini into noodles, use a mandoline or a spiralizer. Set aside in a bowl.

Notes & Suggestions: I used the thicker of the two slicer options on my mandoline. The noodles came out kind of short and took about twice as long to cook. It is up to you to decide your level of thickness! They still tasted amazing!

Step 2: Place a large sauté pan over medium-low heat. Add the olive oil and heat it for 1 minute. Add the garlic (and crushed red pepper flakes if you want) and cook them for 1 minute, stirring constantly.

Notes & Suggestions: My gas stove heats up really fast and gets overly hot, which caused the olive oil to splatter and I ended up burning the garlic. Start with low heat if you have a sensitive stove like mine. It’ll save you from having to re heat the olive oil and adding new garlic (oops!).

Step 3: Add the shrimp to the pan and cook them, stirring as needed, until they are cooked throughout and pink on all sides, about 3 minutes. Season the shrimp with salt and pepper and then using a slotted spoon, transfer them to a bowl, leaving any liquid in the pan.

Notes: Cooking time with the shrimp will vary depending on the pan you use. It took me closer to 6 minutes to cook the shrimp.

Step 4: Increase the heat to medium. Add the white wine and lemon juice to the pan. Using a wooden spoon, scrape any brown bits from the bottom of the pan, cooking the wine and lemon juice for 2 minutes. Add the zucchini noodles and cook, stirring occasionally for 2 minutes. Return the shrimp to the pan and toss to combine. Season with salt and pepper, garnish with parsley (if you want) and serve immediately.

Notes & Suggestions: If you cut your noodles thick like I did, I recommend covering the noodles for about 3 minutes to cook the noodles quicker, then add the shrimp afterwards so you don’t overcook the shrimp.

What a simply delicious and healthy alternative to your standard shrimp scampi. Plus, I think that kids would like it as well!

Leave a Reply

