Little Black Dress goes Professional

Whenever we hear the term “little black dress” it’s usually associated with a tiny, sleek cocktail dress, but I beg to differ on the term with this gorgeous dress. I am always in search of items to add to my professional wardrobe, but it tends to be difficult for me to find a dress that works for me. Many professional dresses look too big, aren’t shaped well on my body, or are beyond my budget, so it’s like finding a needle in a haystack for me! (Same goes for pants because I am tall and have the longest legs). When I found this dress that fit me like a glove, I HAD to buy it!

As many of you know, I LOVE to thrift shop and find the best deals, especially at the Goodwill close to my hometown because I find the best stuff. Not sure if most people know this or not, but Target donates all of their unsold Clearance items to Goodwill! This was one of my favorite discoveries within the last year since they started doing this, I have bought plenty of outfits from Goodwill with the Target tags still attached (including this dress)! Talk about a BARGAIN!

Outfit Details:

  • Mossimo black dress originally sold at Target, bought at Goodwill$12
  • Promod golden chain necklace purchased in Italy two years ago
  • Mossimo black heels from Target$30

One thing I learned in college is to “Dress for Success” whether it’s for a test, an interview, or meeting someone for the first time. If you dress for success, you are more likely to feel confident going into whatever it is you are doing that day. For me, I dressed like this for an interview and felt like I completely nailed it! (Still waiting to hear back about the job though, fingers crossed!)

Leave a Reply

