Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies–The Healthier Way

In the United States, Peanut Butter Blossom cookies are a well known and popular cookie recipe that often makes an appearance around Christmas time. As you may know, I recently moved to Australia (2 months ago today actually), and had a strongggg craving for these cookies around Christmas time!

Most of my friends and coworkers had never heard of these cookies (or biscuits, as Australians call them), so I decided to take action and whip up a batch of deliciousness. Knowing that the Christmas season would bring a lot of eating and some drinking, I chose to craft up a healthier version.

There are several recipes out there, but I used this one (with a change in several ingredients to replace eggs, butter, and sugar).

My Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup mashed banana (replaces the butter)
  • 3/4 cup of reduced fat peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup of stevia (replaces sugar)
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (replaces the egg)
  • 2 tablespoons of 1% milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/3 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • NO SALT
  • Extra 1 cup of sugar/stevia to roll dough into
  • 48 hershey’s kisses

Instructions:

  1. Beat peanut butter and banana in a bowl
  2. Add 1/3 cup stevia and brown sugar and mix together
  3. Stir in flour (measure correctly)
  4. Add in the rest of the ingredients, stir together, and cover with cling wrap
  5. Chill in the fridge for about 1 hour
    • If the dough is too liquidy, you can add a bit more flour to it
  6. Preheat oven to 375F
  7. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and roll into the sugar/stevia
  8. Bake 9-11mins (depends on oven, keep an eye on it).
  9. Once pulled out, put the chocolate kisses on top of cookies right away and let cool.

When I went on the hunt to find the ingredients, I found everything except the Hershey’s kisses! I didn’t think they would be that hard to find here since I have seen so many American candies in Australia, but I was wrong. My boss found a small bag for me, and the rest of the cookies had to have a Hershey’s drop instead because I kind of gave up looking. (Of course, I now see Hershey’s kisses everywhere now that I don’t need them).

These cookies turned out amazing, and they were SUCH a hit at my office. So happy with the result! To find the baking substitutes, I turned to Google and found this super helpful guide:

 

 

One thought on “Peanut Butter Blossom Cookies–The Healthier Way

Leave a Reply

