Acai Bowl-Homemade Recipe!

IMG_7008

Ok, I admit it…I have become quite the foodie lately. I have had a lot more free time on my hands since I graduated college, and I have tried numerous amounts of recipes and become quite adventurous with my taste buds. I’ve seen a few friends from New York and Cali post photos of their breakfast called the Acai Bowl. I never quite knew what it was or what it meant, but wanted to find out for myself.

A friend of mine is a professional model (working out of CO, NY, and CA) and I had to ask her what it was since she was posting photos in every city all the time! Basically it’s a smoothie in a bowl with other yummy toppings, and is very healthy for you (Acai is very high in antioxidants).

I found this recipe on Pinterest, and decided to give it a try. With a few minor tweaks to my own recipe, I had some pretty amazing and tasty results! So I am going to share my recipe with you.

Acai Bowl Recipe:

  • 1 Cup frozen Sambazon Acai juice
  • 3/4 Cup frozen mangoes
  • 1 Banana (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 Cup Bolthouse C-Boost Juice
  • 1/2 Cup fresh Strawberries & Raspberries
  • 1/4 Cup of granola
  • 2 Tbs. shredded coconut
  • Sprinkle of Chia seeds

Step 1: Freeze your Acai juice in a sandwich bag overnight, or purchase the pre-packaged smoothie bags sold by Sambazon.

Step 2: Put your frozen acai juice, banana, and mangoes into the blender and begin blending. Slowly add the C-Boost juice and blend to desired consistency. (I blended mine enough that it was like the consistency of applesauce. Add more juice if you want it thinner).

Step 3: Pour into bowl and top with fresh fruit and other toppings. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

