Overnight Oats Recipe

A friend of mine blogs for her career while living in England and she constantly posts pictures of her overnight oats on her Instagram and blog. I had never heard of them until I saw her post it months ago, and I decided to finally try it myself. I probably should have tried her recipe that she posted on her blog Love and London, however, I just Googled a random simple recipe that included ingredients I already had.

The recipe which I found online, was a Strawberry-Coconut Overnight Oats recipe, and I changed up a few ingredients. Instead of using Almond Milk, I used Soy Milk and I also didn’t add maple syrup, which probably should have been added. I also had read several other recipes which had greek yogurt in it, so I added that as well to this recipe.

My Results

I doubled the recipe on most ingredients, and added more strawberries. When I ate it in the morning, I didn’t think it had as much flavor as I had hoped it would. I would recommend using a flavored greek yogurt if you want more flavor, as this was pretty bland. Many people also think you are supposed to heat up the overnight oats, but you don’t cook anything!

What I used:

  • 1 Cup Greek Yogurt
  • Handful of freshly cut strawberries
  • 1 Cup of Steel Cut Oats
  • Sprinkle of Chia Seeds
  • Splash of Soy Milk

Mix it all together, and stick in the fridge overnight. Again, I would recommend adding more fruit, a flavored greek yogurt, or nuts. Or, try one of my friend’s recipes such as the one listed on her blog Love and London.

One thought on “Overnight Oats Recipe

Leave a Reply

