Kale Chips-Recipe

Have you ever tried to make Kale chips before? Well, I have attempted to several times, and every time I make them, I get a different result. I think one reason is because I have baked my kale chips in 4 different ovens (I’ve lived in a lot of places due to college)… Another reason I think is because I don’t remember the recipe I used the first time that I made them–the one time I actually was successful at making them. Pretty stupid of me not to make note of the recipe, but oh well, I finally perfected it again!

Two weeks ago I bought kale from the local farmer’s market and burnt them all to a crisp, and ended up throwing them away. I went back to the farmer’s market again, and tried a new batch of kale chips, and they were really yummy!

I gave up on following recipes online, and texted a friend of mine who always makes them successfully (thanks Sam)! So I am going to share my recipe with you.

Kale Chips Recipe:

  • Fresh Kale bunch
  • Olive Oil
  • Italian Seasoning (optional)

Notecook time may vary depending on your oven.

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 350*F

Step 2: Wash your kale and rip pieces off the stem (don’t include the large center of the stem which is the thickest part because it doesn’t taste very good).

Step 3: Dry your kale thoroughly so it cooks well and doesn’t leave it soggy. (I used my salad spinner to dry it off)

photo 3 (19)

Step 4: Lay out your kale on a baking sheet, and spread it all out evenly. You don’t want it to be piled on top of other pieces,  or else it won’t all cook. If you have too much kale, then use another baking sheet.

Step 5: Dust your kale with a bit of olive oil, I used a basting brush to do this. Don’t put too much on because it won’t cook otherwise and will end up soggy.

Step 6: Sprinkle the italian seasoning in an even coat on top of the kale if you want additional flavoring. You can also substitute the italian seasoning for any other seasoning you would like!

Step 7: Put your baking sheet into the oven and cook for 10-12 mins. Keep an eye on it, as it may need more or less timing depending on your oven and the amount of kale you cooked.

Step 8: Pour into a bowl and enjoy! (Doesn’t take long to cool off).

Kale has become extremely popular as a health food lately, so what exactly are the benefits to eating kale you ask? 

Leave a Reply

