Coffee Table Tray- Repurposed Frame

Pinterest Find

I think I have a serious obsession with finding craft projects that involve picture frames! My newest project was to repurpose a picture frame into a coffee table tray, similar to this one I found on Pinterest. I found a large frame at Goodwill that I could use for this project. Usually when I paint a frame, I take the glass out so I don’t get any paint on it, however, this frame was designed so the glass wouldn’t come out (so I just covered the glass with tape to protect it). After sanding and painting the frame, I screwed in the handles, but unfortunately, I cracked the glass and had to start all over again on a different frame.

I was pretty upset since I had bought the frame specifically for this project, not to mention, spent over an hour painting it. Luckily, I have a stash of frames that I have bought over the summer from various garage sales and Goodwill for random projects. So I got started once again on a new frame… I was pretty happy with the results and I made this as a housewarming gift for a friend that’s moving to Nashville. I decided to use photos that I took in Europe since she had studied abroad a year before I did, and the pictures are all locations that she went to too. =)

Project Steps and Details:

  1. Find a larger frame that lays flat on a table, is raised on the edges, and has glass too. Also buy your handles from Hobby Lobby, craft store, or hardware store.
    • I bought my frames from Goodwill for a good deal
    • I bought my handles from Hobby Lobby for $2.00 each
  2. Sand down the edges of the frame and clean off the dust with a rag.
  3. Remove the glass from the frame (if it’s like the first frame I had that doesn’t remove, then cover the glass with tape).
  4. Paint the frame with 3-4 layers of paint (after each layer dries, add a new layer)
    • You can use any type of paint you want
    • I used crafting acrylic paint that you can buy at any craft store
  5. Once the paint is dry, take black shoe polish and distress the edges. Add another layer of paint if you want it to look less distressed. (You can use sandpaper too to distress the edges more also).
  6. Add a top coat of Mod Podge to the frame and let dry.
  7. Add your handles to the frame by using a drill.
  8. Put your glass back into the frame and add your photos, patterned paper, or whatever you desire inside. Then you are all done!
Leave a Reply

