DIY Chalk Paint

As many of you know, I have been painting a lot of furniture this summer for my future apartment (wherever that may be…still waiting on jobs). With that, I have been doing a lot of research on popular painting techniques that give a furniture a vintage look. The first technique that I used, was written in one of my previous posts for a coffee table that I painted.

With several other pieces of furniture still set aside, I took the time to watch a variety of Youtube videos and read a bunch of blogs on refurbishing furniture. One of the more popular techniques I came across, was to use chalk paint. Chalk paint gives furniture more of a matte finished look, and I personally love everything online that I have seen painted in it. The most popular and well known brand is Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, however, it is extremely expensive. One quart starts at about $35, which is extremely expensive. I refused to pay this much for a small amount of chalk paint, so I did some research and found several DIY chalk paint recipes and tutorials.

I found several recipes online, and the best one came from Pinterest (click here to view tutorial). It worked extremely well and I was very pleased with my results. Follow the tutorial from the recipe linked above. I listed the chalk paint ingredients below and included where I bought them and for how much (although they can be bought elsewhere and at different costs).

Recipe calls for:

  • Plaster of Paris, bought from Michael’s$6
  • Valspar paint sample in Soft Panther color (ID: VRO88A), bought from Ace Hardware$6.50
  • SC Johnson furniture wax, bought from Ace Hardware$8
  • Foam roller for cabinets, bought from Ace Hardware$3.50
  • Water
  • Plastic container and spoon for mixing and storing the chalk paint
  • Furniture to paint

How to Apply the Chalk Paint:

After learning how to make my own chalk paint, I learned how to apply the paint. I followed the youtube video tutorial seen below. Note-This girl works for a store that makes their own chalk paint and wax, I just followed the tutorial and used my own chalk paint and wax that I had from the recipe above.

What I LOVE about chalk paint:

  • No need to sand down your furniture before
  • Dries faster than regular paint
  • The matte finished look to it
  • The wax goes on super easy and looks/feels better than using a polyurethane semigloss finish

Stay tuned for a tutorial on how my chalk painted furniture turned out in another post coming soon!

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Chalk Paint

  1. Pingback: Chalk Painted TV Stand | Well, That's Pinteresting!

Leave a Reply

